The Guardian 9 February, 2005

Solidarity with people of Nepal

Leaders of political parties who, in the past, have jointly participated in movements to express solidarity with the people of Nepal in their struggle for the restoration of democracy met on February 5, 2005 at the invitation of the Communist Party of India (Marxist) (CPI-M).

The meeting was attended by Harkishan Singh Surjeet, Sitaram Yechury (CPI-M), A. B. Bardhan, D. Raja, Pallab Sengupta (CPI), Debabrata Biswas, G. Devarajan (Forward Bloc), D.P. Tripati (NCP), Prem Gupta (RJD), Swapan Mukherjee (CPI-ML), Anil Misra (Socialist Front), Vijay Pratap (Convenor, Socialist Front) and Ravindra Manchanda (SJP). Abani Roy (RSP), Surendra Mohan (JD-Secular) and Janeshwar Misra (Samajwadi Party) could not attend but have conveyed their agreement.

The meeting strongly condemned the abrogation of democracy in Nepal. The King of Nepal, Gyanendra, using the army imposed an authoritarian regime by dismissing the government. Leaders of political parties were placed under house arrest and communication links with the world shut down. The meeting decried the army crackdown and repression unleashed on innocent people.

Leaders of the political parties have decided to extend all moral and political support to the democratic forces in Nepal and the people of Nepal who will not take this attack on democracy lying down.

The meeting called upon the government of India that it should be made clear to Nepal that this palace coup is unacceptable and demand the restoration of democracy in Nepal immediately.

The leaders of the political parties decided to hold a national convention for the restoration of democracy in Nepal on February 24, 2005 in New Delhi.

Apart from those present at the meeting, it was decided to invite other political parties and forces who are willing to join this struggle expressing solidarity with the people of Nepal for the restoration of democracy.

Back to index page